Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Subscribe to your local paper.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile device with news, weather and more from Kendall County Now.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
In our Morning Update newsletter, we'll send you a mix of our best stories and the most recent obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Kendall County.
Local News

Montgomery Village Board candidate knocked off ballot

The village of Montgomery's Municipal Officers Electoral Board ruled this past week to remove the name of one candidate for village board from the April 4 ballot.

The board ruled that the name of Joshua Salisbury be stricken from the ballot because he failed to collect the required number of signatures on his candidate petitions and did not write the election date or Kendall County on his Consolidated Primary Petition form.

Salisbury was one of seven candidates to file petitions to have his name placed on the April ballot for three open seats on the village board.

Salisbury was attempting to make his second bid for election to the board. He ran unsuccessfully for a board seat in 2013.

The deadline to file petitions was Dec. 19.

The seats are now held by Denny Lee, Theresa Sperling and Steve Jungermann. The three incumbents all filed petitions to seek re-election. Also filing petitions to challenge the incumbents were Salisbury, Tom Betsinger, Bill Keck and Glenn Macey.

Jason Bragg, a former member of the village plan commission, filed objections to Salisbury's petitions and petitions filed by Macey.

The Electoral Board, however, rejected the objections to Macey's petitions and his name will remain on the ballot.

In his written objection, Bragg indicated that Macey failed to correctly file his required Statement of Economic Interest since it listed only Kendall County and not Kane County, the location of the village's principal office.

In addition, Macey acknowledged that he filed his Statement of Economic Interest with Debbie Gillette, the Kendall County clerk. The village is located in both Kendall and Kane counties.

Though state law requires that Statements of Economic Interest be filed with the county clerk of the county in which the principal office of the unit of local government is located, the Electoral Board determined that Macey "substantially compiled" with the state election code and ethics act in filing his Statement of Economic Interest with the Kendall County Clerk.

The Electoral Board was comprised of Village President Matt Brolley, Village Clerk Penny Fitzpatrick and Village Trustee Pete Heinz.

Loading more