Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Subscribe to your local paper.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile device with news, weather and more from Kendall County Now.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
In our Morning Update newsletter, we'll send you a mix of our best stories and the most recent obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in Kendall County.
Breaking News

BREAKING: Doyle, Kroner, Swanson elected to Oswego School Board

Current Oswego School District Board Vice President Lauri Doyle along with Ruth Kroner and Alison Swanson won seats on the board in balloting Tuesday.

Doyle was top voter-getter with 4,298, followed by Swanson with 4,100 votes and Kroner at 3,974, according to unofficial voting results provided by the Kendall, Kane and Will County Clerk's Offices.

Coming up short in the balloting were candidates Wayne E. Harshberger and Lauri Phillips.

Doyle, Kroner and Swanson will serve four-year terms.

"I am very grateful to the community for allowing me an opportunity to continue to serve our schools," Doyle said, adding, "I think that as a board we have been able to work with any combination of board members, so we are happy to have two new sets of eyes on the things that we're currently working on."

Kroner said she is excited and anxious for the opportunity to serve on the board.

"I know it's a big responsibility, and we have a lot of hard work ahead of us, but I'm excited to be a part of that," she said. "I look forward to working with current board members and newly elected board members as well."

Swanson, who served on the board from 2011 until 2015, said she is "ready to roll (her) sleeves up and get back to work."

"I appreciate the community's trust and support," she said, thanking her supporters. "It was really a grassroots effort and I am grateful."

As Doyle is the only incumbent, Kroner and Swanson will fill the seats left empty by Board Secretary Jared Ploger and Board President Brad Banks.

Doyle, Swanson, and Kroner will take the oath of office at the board's April 29 meeting. The meeting will function as a regular meeting of the board, before the three are sworn in to office. At the same meeting, the new board will vote on who will serve as president, vice president and secretary.

The Board of Education will next meet Monday, April 8, at 7:15 p.m., in the Community Room of Oswego East High School.

Loading more